Mathématiques de l'Imagerie et de ses Applications


Call for application French-German Mathematics in Imaging PhD Prize Application deadline: Friday 10th Nov. 2017 12am GMT.

The prize is organized and awarded by GdR CNRS MIA, GAMM-SIP and SMAI SIGMA group:

  • Art. 1 – Description

    The prize is awarded to a young researcher with oustanding contribution to the field of Mathematics in Imaging. The prize is awarded every two-year and is to be presented at the occasion of the Mathematical Image Analysis (MIA) conference series. The award consists of a certificate, financial recognition of 1000 €, and a plenary talk at MIA conference. The award is attributed annually, generally to a single winner, by the PhD Thesis Award jury. The first prize will be awarded in January 2018 at MIA conference in Berlin.

  • Art. 2 – Conditions for application

    To be considered for the award, the defense of the PhD thesis should take place between two editions of the MIA conference series . The applicants must also have carried out and defended their PhD in a French or German institution.

  • Art. 3 – Application

    Applications must be submitted in full at the latest by Friday 10th Nov. 2017 12am GMT. Their treatment is confidential. Applications must contain: The thesis manuscript in digital format. For those who wrote their PhD in French, an extended summary of 4 pages in English must be provided. A supporting letter from the PhD advisor(s). The PhD referees reviews. A curriculum vitae of the student including publication list and conference presentations. All of the above documents are to be submitted as a single archive in digital on the Submission website.

  • Art. 4 – Jury

    A jury is selected by GdR CNRS MIA and GAMM-SIP. It is composed of 4 members (alphabetical order): Alfred Bruckstein (Technion) Raymond Chan (Chinese University of Hong Kong) Selim Esedoglu (University of Michigan) Rebecca Willett (University of Wisconsin) A jury member cannot be a PhD advisor of a candidate for the award. The jury may ask for external and independent expertise when necessary. Decisions are taken by simple majority. In the event of a tie, the Chairman shall prevail. The jury’s decision cannot be appealed.

  • Art. 5 – Important dates

    • Application submission deadline: Friday 10th Nov. 2017 12am GMT

    • Laureates annoucement: January 2018

  • Organizing committee:

    Jean-François Aujol (University Bordeaux)

    Martin Burger (University of Munster)

    Albert Cohen (University Pierre et Marie Curie)

    Jalal Fadili (Normandy University-ENSICAEN)

    Michael Hintermuller (Humboldt-University of Berlin)

    Gabriel Peyré (CNRS-ENS Paris)

    Gabriele Steidl (University of Keiserslautern)